Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 "Pathétique" conducted by Myung-Whun Chung

53 min
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 "Pathétique" conducted by Myung-Whun Chung

Myung-Whun Chung conducts the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France playing Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 "Pathétique" in B minor. Recorded on the 19th of September 2014 at the Salle Pleyel (Paris).

Tchaikovsky died only a few days after the creation of his Symphony No. 6 in 1893 – it seems as though he killed himself after a scandal burst out in his personal life. The piece was dedicated to Tchaikovsky’s nephew Vladimir Davydov. The composer had priorly told him that the piece bore a “subjective program” and it was the audience’s role to unveil it. “Like all programs – whether they are real or imaginary – in Tchaikovsky’s case, this one could be summed up by a few sentences about fate, the pain caused by life, impossible loves, guilt, foreboding of death” Christian Wasselin explains. Compared to the Symphony No. 5, the Pathétique (which got his subtitle from Modest, Pyotr’s brother) is all about restraint and simplicity. It can be heard especially in the second movement, shaped like a graceful and delicate waltz and in the finale which is not  “a roaring allegro but an Adagio” (Tchaikovsky). André Lischke saw in this last movement, tinted with sadness and suffering, the “testimony of the upcoming self-destruction that [the composer] had foreseen”.

  1. Adagio-Allegro non troppo
  2. Allegro con grazia
  3. Allegro molto vivace
  4. Adagio lamentoso
Myung-Whun Chung conducts Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff - with pianist Evgenu Kissin
Full concert
The Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France performs Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff with Evgeny Kissin
Salle Pleyel à Paris
Pyotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky
Pyotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky
All artists
  • Myung-Whun Chung
    Myung-Whun ChungConductor
  • Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio FranceOrchestra